I should have known better…

There was no way I was going to be able to wait until next week to post again.  Especially because I’ve discovered a new product that I just have to tell you all about!

I went for a longish run yesterday – 8 miles – that ended at Whole Foods (yes, I planned it that way – smart girl, hmmm?).  After a quick trip to the Ladies’ Room to mop up my oh-so-attractive “glow” (hey, it was supes humid out!), I headed over to the Make-Your-Own-Trail-Mix bar – my usual choice for the perfect post-run snack.  However, on my walk across the store I spied these:

Crunchy, Salty Deliciousness

Oh.  My.  Lanta.  Biena Roasted Chickpeas, where have you been all my life?!?!  “Crunchy, Salty Deliciousness” only begins to describe the flavor sensation provided by these little gems.  Not only do they taste divine, they also have loads of protein and fiber, not to mention a heck of a lot less fat and calories than my go-to nut mix.  They are a bit high in sodium and a tad pricey ($3.49 for a 2 oz. bag at my local Whole Foods) but no snack is perfect, right?  I’m tellin’ ya, these Biena people have a good thing going – they also offer a Lime & Chili flavor and a Cinnamon Maple version that I’m dying to try.  It’s official, I’m a roasted chickpea devotee!

Paired with a tall glass of ice cold water with lemon:

Ahhh…refreshing

And super sweet strawberries:

These just scream “summer,” don’t they?

Hydration, protein, and some healthy carbs – my post-run treat was complete.

What’s your favorite post-workout snack?

What new treats have you discovered lately?

Do you ever run errands directly after a workout – in all your sweaty glowy glory?

Categories: Running, Whole Foods | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I should have known better…

  1. roxanne

    hey hun! that sounds like a great post-workout snack. roasted chickpeas are a really common indian snack (they are called chana) so you will be able to find them (probably for cheaper too) at an indian grocery- they are usually just plain or salted, but have been a favorite snack in the wadia household for many years! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

