July Foodie Pen Pals!

Hello, everyone!

I am wicked excited for my first ever Foodie Pen Pals Reveal!!!  I’ve been a Foodie Pen Pals member for six months now but, while I’ve written a few guest posts (for Ashley, Kelly, and Farrah), I’ve never had a blog to write my own post…until now!  So…cue drumroll…here we go!

For those of you who may not be familiar with it, Foodie Pen Pals is the brain child of Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean.  It’s exactly what it sounds like: every month you are paired with someone else from the U.S. (the program has become so popular it has also branched out to Canada!) with whom you exchange foodie goodies!  It’s super dupes fun cause you’re introduced to products that are either not available where you live or that you’ve just never tried before.  Plus, you get to meet really awesome peeps :).

For July, I was paired with Kath from The Nut Kase.  I was so excited when I received her package that I forgot to take a photo of it/the contents/me opening it/etc.  Not a good start for a first time blogger…  But, seeing as we can’t turn back time, you’ll just have to trust me that I looked something like this:

Wow. Not the most flattering photo but at least it gets my point across…

Anywho, the first thing from Kath’s package that I cracked into were these Snapea Crisps:

This bag was not long for the world. Devoid of it’s contents, it currently rests in a landfill somewhere…

I’ve seen these in the store millions of times but I’ve never actually tried them.  Well, with Kath’s giftie, I had no excuse not to.  Oh boy, are they yum!  Light and airy, salty with an almost creamy pea infused flavor.  Lip smackin’ good.  If you’re not lucky enough to have a Foodie Pen Pal to send them to you, go buy them :).

The next item I tried was this Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend:

Trader Joe’s rocks…but this is not a bag of rocks. They are grains.

Another win!  This delightful mix of Israeli couscous, orzo, baby garbanzos, and red quinoa was the perfect accompaniment to the Jalfrezi curry I made for my dinner guest this past Saturday.  The couscous was soft and fluffy, the baby garbanzos added a satisfying crunch, and the mild nutty flavor of the blend was an excellent balance for the intense spiciness of the curry.  Alas, there are no photos of this delicious meal.  There were far more important things to think about that night because, yes, he was that sort of dinner guest…

This is my wink-y face. My sister says I look like I’m in pain when I wink. Yeah, there are some weird contortions going on here, aren’t there?

Oh.  Wait.  Hold up.  Not THAT sort of dinner guest!  Get your heads outta the gutter!  This is a G rated blog, after all :).

Anywho, let’s get back on track: Kath’s package contained even more wonderful goodies that I can’t wait to try!  The freeze-dried mango looks like a great snack, the soup seems to be a perfect rainy afternoon comfort food, and I’ve already got big plans for that Soyaki sauce…plans that might involve the aforementioned dinner guest :).

See? Trader Joe’s really does rock. But, again, these are not rocks. They are food.

Thank you, Kath, for all the treats!

I know right about now you’re thinking, “Michelle, how do I partake of the fun-fest that is Foodie Pen Pals?”  You need only ask, dear readers:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.

-Foodie Penpals is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

If you’re interested in participating for August, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by August 4th as pairings will be emailed on August 5th!
*If you’re from somewhere besides the US, Canada or Europe and want to participate, send me an email and I’ll see if we get enough interest this month!

Categories: Foodie Pen Pals, Trader Joe's | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “July Foodie Pen Pals!

  1. Have heard great things about that TJ’s Carrot Ginger Soup! You must let me know how it is. I think I’ve even seen recipes floating around that use it. Your pics are so silly. I can see that like me, you aren’t afraid to take and post silly pics, and that is AWESOME. How exciting that you’re recapping foodie pen pals on your OWN blog now! I need to get mine done and published today, eek!

  2. I’ll have to put that Harvest Grains Blend onto my shopping list the next time I go to Trader Joe’s.

  3. tara

    Please wink more at work. Especially when I’m in need of a good laugh. Thank you.

  4. Ann

    I love the TJ carrot ginger soup! Also, ooooOOOOOooo about winky dinner guest!!!!!

  5. Deb

    L O V E the winky photo! I will have to show Chris.

  6. Mom

    I’m glad you really didn’t leave me on the mountain!
    Mom

  7. Jennifer

    The foodie pen pal basket is so cool! I’m looking forward to reading your blog, you do a great job writing! I agree with Ann, ooooooOOOOOOoooooo about a winky dinner guest!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

