Two Cents Tuesday: Excuses, Excuses…

It’s time for another Two Cents Tuesday!  This week’s topic? 

TCT #2: How do you exercise when you don’t have time to exercise?

I’ve been busy lately.  Who hasn’t, right?  Between birthdays, picnics, weddings, dinner dates, trips to the PEZ factory, beach get-a-ways, blogging, and that pesky little thing called work…

I used to have a hamster named Karla Bird. She gave herself a heart attack from too much running on her wheel. We can all learn something from Karla Bird…

…I’ve barely had a moment to breathe let alone squeeze in a workout.  Mind you, the vast majority of activities on my packed calendar have been fun things that I want to do (well, except for the rat hamster race) but that only goes so far in lessening the anxiety and guilt I feel for not getting my sweat on.  I’ve written before about the joy of endorphins and the difficulty I have taking rest days, so you can imagine how frustrating it is when life interferes with my exercise schedule.

So, how do I deal when life gets in the way?  Well, I simply don’t let it.  After all…

Darn straight.

…if he can find a way, so can I.  🙂

Seeing as I spend the majority of my waking hours in an office building, fitting exercise into days when I have no time to exercise often requires some creativity.

Daily lunchtime walks around the neighboring office building are spiced up with “obstacles”…

Not sure what sort of exercise this is but I’m sure it delivers some sort of physical benefit – working my arms and core maybe?

…refilling our stash of printer paper requires a bit of heavy lifting…

Lifting, in turn, requires grimacing.

…and reading emails is the perfect time to work on those triceps.

Work Wife has good form, wouldn’t ya say?

Add in a few trips up and down the stairs and some impromptu dancing…

Yeah…we keep ourselves entertained.

…and it’s not the best workout in the world, but on busy days I’ll take what I can get. 🙂

Alright, now it’s your turn: How do you exercise when you don’t have time to exercise?

What are your two cents?

Categories: Two Cents Tuesday | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Two Cents Tuesday: Excuses, Excuses…

  1. Poor Karla Bird!

    I pick the farthest parking spot when I run errands! Unless it’s raining, then I park in the middle. And sometimes I do pilates while reading in bed before I go to sleep.

  2. Jennifer

    Like Catherine, I park far away from the door when I run errands and I spend my day lifting and carrying a (no longer little) 26lb rugrat!

  3. tara

    I feel honored that I’m able to boogie with you. And doubly honored that I made your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

