When life gives you pistachios…

If you’ve been following me lately, you’ll know that my love of nut butters has recently been amped up a notch thanks to the generosity of Gal A and her gift of Nutty Butters.

In fact, I’ve been so enthralled with the concept of home-made nut butters that I decided it was high time to give it a try myself.  However, never one to go with the crowd…

Those jeans are all kinds of awesome.

…I decided to try a more out of the ordinary nut: pistachios.  It’s not like I haven’t heard of pistachio butter before – they sell it at Whole Foods – but I haven’t seen too many home-made versions floatin’ around the ol’ blog-o-sphere.  So, equipped with a bag of pre-roasted and salted nuts and The Magic Bullet, I set to work.

Things started off well…

The shelling (or is it de-shelling?) process took me nearly a half hour and resulted in a blister on my left thumb. If you decide to undertake this process yourself, well…Godspeed.

…and then quickly devolved.  It was after I loaded the innocent looking nuts into the equally innocent looking Magic Bullet that all hell broke loose.  The initial, somewhat hopeful pulsing of the nuts was soon followed by much smacking of the Bullet, mild cursing, and maybe some tears.  There was noise and there was smoke (I think I burned out the motor on that damn Bullet) but, alas, there was no pistachio butter.  Instead, I ended up with a sort of dry nut paste.

Epic.  Fail.

Now this particular kitchen kerfluffle (I feel “catastrophe” is too strong a word) was due to many factors: odd nut choice, bad appliance choice (shoulda gone with a food processor), and an inexperienced (at least in the fine art of crafting nut butters) chef.  Rationally, I know this but, emotionally, I feel like a loser.  This post was supposed to be about making nut butter – and how Fun! Easy! Enjoyable! it is – and now it has to be about a big fat flop.

But that might be a good thing…

I’m not known to take failure very well.  If I’m going to do something, I want to do it well.  I don’t always have to be the best but I want to rank somewhere up there in the top 15%. 

Birthday gift from Mom. The woman knows me well.

You’d think that this fear of failure would keep me from trying new activities that I can’t be sure I’ll excel at.  You’d be logical to think that, but you’d be wrong.  As we saw from those jeans up there, I’m not one to follow trends – I’m also not very logical – so, rather than shying away from attempting new things because I might fail at them, I dive head first into experimentation regardless of the possibility of a misstep.  Sure, I might throw a temper tantrum when those endeavors don’t go my way, but gosh darn it, it only makes me want to try harder the next time.

Why?  Well, because you never know when a defeat might lead to a victory.

Epic failure? More like iconic success.

Mistakes happen.  Things don’t always go according to plan.  We can’t forget that old adage: When life gives you lemons, go and make yourself some refreshing lemonade. 

In this particular case, life gave me pistachios.  While I was not able to make pistachio butter, my attempt did offer me a reason to write about the importance of embracing blunders.  And don’t think I forgot about that nut paste.  I have another culinary adventure planned.  I may fail again but I won’t know unless I try.  🙂

Have you ever let fear of failure dissuade you from trying something new?

Have you ever turned an “accident” into a “happy accident?”

Categories: Culinary Experiments, Kitchen Gadgets, Nut Butter, Whole Foods | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “When life gives you pistachios…

  1. I made pistachio butter once. It looked like baby poo. So I called it pistachio poo.

    It was one of the most popular posts on my blog that month.

    Go figure? 🙂

    • That’s awesome! I’m gonna check your post for some tips on how to make it work – I’m still determined to create successful pistachio poo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

