The Goose is Outta the Bag…

The time has come, dear readers, for me to satisfy your curiosity.  I promised you a phenomenal recipe yesterday and I will now deliver on that promise. 

You remember the hint I gave you, yes?

Little ball of sunshine.

What could this gem possibly be?  Many of you guessed a tiny yellow tomato.  Nope.  Another guessed it was a kumquat.  I’m afraid not.  The title of this post offers another hint.  Any takers?  No?  What was that?  Did you say, “JUST CUT THE CR*P AND TELL ME ALREADY!!!”  Well, okay then, no need to get your knickers in a bunch.  My friends, this little bugger is a…drumroll please…

This was a flippin’ fantastic movie. Go see it.

…Gooseberry!  A Cape Gooseberry to be precise.  Yay for Gooseberries!

While I have certainly heard of gooseberries, I have never heard of Cape Gooseberries and I have never actually consumed one of either variety…until Tuesday evening, that is.  During my weekly trip to the West End Farmers’ Market, I was perusing the offerings at the Rose’s Berry Farm stand when I noticed a pint of what at first appeared to be tiny tomatillos.  “What, pray tell, are these?”  I asked the kind farmer.  “Gooseberries,” he so eloquently responded.  A man of few words, he then proceeded to unwrap one from its crepe-y covering, offer it to me, and say, “Try.”  So I did.

Folks, it was delightful.  It burst open in my mouth like a tiny little tomato but the flavor was much sweeter with just a touch of tartness.  I could have eaten a whole pint just like that.  However, I decided that much more was in store for these babies…

Like a photo shoot.

…so I brought them home and got my apron on.  This, my patient readers, is the outcome:

Wait for It… Gooseberry Salsa

Glamour Shot.

1 cup chopped Cape Gooseberries

1/2 cup chopped red onion

2 tablespoons chopped jalapenos (I used jarred, fresh would work as well but be sure to remove the seeds!)

1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes

1 clove garlic, minced

1 teaspoon brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix all of the above together and refrigerate for at least 1-2 hours.  The refrigeration lets all the ingredients mingle so that the flavor is more intense (even vegetables and spices need some time to get to know each other, people) but if you’re impatient (like me) there’s nothing wrong with eating the salsa right away. 🙂

Serving suggestion.

As I said yesterday, this stuff is goo-OOO-ood.  Slightly tart, the tiny gooseberry seeds pop on your tongue and are complimented by the crunch of crisp onion.  Much as you’ve had to do for this post, you have to wait a moment for the kick of jalapeno but when it does come it is the perfect balance to the refreshing sweetness of the gooseberries and brown sugar.

Go make it. 

If you are still reading, that’s good.  You did not succumb to my above order nor to your growling belly that, I’m sure, is screaming at you “GO MAKE THAT DELICIOUS SALSA!!!”  Yay to you for not being a pushover and for having the willpower of Miranda Kerr – though a healthy person should probably not have the willpower of Miranda Kerr.

Anywho, there’s one morething I’d like to share with you…

You may have noticed from the photos above that all of the salsa ingredients are beautifully, uniformly chopped. 

The salsa is ready for its close-up.

No, I am not an Iron Chef.  I do not have amazing knife skills.  What I do have is this:

Another birthday gift from Mom. She done good this year.

You all know my love of Tupperware.  Well, this new gadget did not disappoint.

Them blades are sharp! Don’t use this if you’ve had a few glasses of wine. Just sayin’…

It’s better than that damn Magic Bullet (which I’ve sold off to a friend, by the way…good ridance – to the Bullet, not the friend)!  It chopped gooseberries, onion, garlic, and jalapenos with ease!  It’s manually operated which I (and my ears – no loud grating noises) love!  The bowl detaches from the blade portion and comes with its own cover so you can prep and store in the same container!  This contraption is genius.  Here’s where you can go to get one.

Well, now you’ve got the recipe.  All you need is to get the ingredients and a chopping mechanism of your choice and you will be well on your way to enjoying Wait for It… Gooseberry Salsa.

You may be cursing me for making you wait.  You may be thanking me for sharing – in which case, you’re welcome.  Either way the cat goose is outta the bag.

Have you ever tried gooseberries or cape gooseberries before?

What’s your favorite kitchen contraption?

Categories: Farmer's Market, Kitchen Gadgets, Veggies | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Goose is Outta the Bag…

  1. 1. I really want that Tupperware thing, I saw it at a craft show at Christmas and I was so enamored with it, but she didn’t have any left so I’d have had to order it and that was simply too much to deal with!
    2. I’m jealous of your gooseberries! Our farmer’s market is good but the most unusual thing is bok choy.
    3. My friend had a bumper crop of tomatillos last week so she gave me a whole bunch. I should blog about them, since it was my first time cooking with tomatillos. We’re not big salsa verde fans over here so we skewered and grilled them and oh my! New fave veggie, perhaps.

  2. Pingback: Pichuberry Salsa – Gluten Free Freshman

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

