I’m a Consume-ah…

…but I don’t have a tume-ah!

I must have a subconscious “thing” for Arnie…this is the second time I’ve referenced him…hmm…

It’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday, folks!

In snapping photos for this week’s edition, I realized that I was takin’ pictures of lots of products.  Rather than pretending that I cook every single night from unprocessed, fresh ingredients, I decided to just “go with it” and introduce you all to the pre-packaged products that I love.  Don’t you worry, I still ate plenty of fruit and veg but those can be the subject of another post because today’s topic is WIAW: Shameless Product Placement!

My morning coffee usually comes from a bag of pre-ground Starbucks Sumatra or DDs French Vanilla or something cheap and flavored from Ocean State Job Lot or a mix of the above.  Lately, though, I’ve been relishing this blend from Trader Joe’s:

Fall has fallen…into my kitchen.

Deliciously spicy and aromatic, it’s a great way to start a crisp fall morning and goes very well with my current nut butter of choice from Target:

The prominently featured expiration date sorta screws up the photogenic quality of the tub…ah, well.

My daily snack attacks are usually satisfied by one of these from Whole Foods:

Top-notch snack stash.

I’ve already posted about my love of Primal Jerky and Biena Roasted Chick Peas but they bear re-mentioning cause they are that good. 

I’ve been trying to be better about my sugar consumption lately and I have cut back quite a bit but there is no resisting an individually wrapped Halloween Peep:

He has no idea he’s this close to losing that pretty little head of his.

When lunchtime hits, I reach for my go-to yogurt.  I’ve been wanting to try Dannon Light & Fit Greek Yogurt since reading about it on Caitlin’s blog but I wasn’t able to find it until last week.  My local grocery store finally wised up and started carrying it:

When I was little I used to call strawberries “strawbalooboos.”

I really enjoy this but don’t forget that I’m a sweet-a-holic.  It tastes just like the regular Dannon Light & Fit, just a little bit thicker.  If you’re going into one of these thinking that you’re about to enjoy a deliciously tangy greek yogurt, walk away cause it’ll probably be too sweet for you.

My daily dinner salad is traditionally accompanied by some form of protein.  Sometimes it’s an egg (hard-boiled, scrambled, poached –  I’m not picky), sometimes chicken or turkey, sometimes beans.  Last night, however, protein came in the form of these

Sorry for the glare but look at how the shiny spot is placed directly above the “Mo”…it’s almost like a little sun shining on the logo. Appropriate – though unintentional – no?

…and this:

Have you ever actually seen a laughing cow…like, for reals? Are cows even capable of laughing?

I also scooped up some delicious leftover watermelon salsa that I made for a party last weekend…

Watermelon, black beans, onion, jalapenos, etc. = YUM.

…with these perfect salsa scoopers:

Salty, crispy, and addictive.

I capped off the evening with my customary cinnamon-sprinkled cottage cheese – Hood is the best, by far: 

This stuff blows the competition outta the whey.

Even better when served in the mini-pint glass from Brew Fest:

I told you all I was gonna use it for this…didn’t believe me, huh?

That’s it, dear readers – the product wh*re’s version of What I Ate Wednesday. 🙂

What are your “go-to” pre-packaged foods?

What did you eat Wednesday?

Categories: Candy, Cottage Cheese, Nut Butter, protein, Sweet Tooth, Trader Joe's, What I Ate Wednesday, Whole Foods | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “I’m a Consume-ah…

  1. I love this post! It’s great to show people which packaged foods you are rockin’ so they can get healthy/quick ideas for themselves. And thanks for shouting out to my blog! Your thoughts about the Dannon Greek echo mine exactly. My palate is sweet-sensitive so it is so not for me but I appreciate that it’s making Greek yogurt more “appealing” to the masses because I didn’t try it myself until I found a flavored Chobani I’d want. But now I’m all plain, all the time!
    I met the Biena Chickpea folks at CT Veg Fest and adored their products. My mom makes plain roasted chickpeas at home so to save $ I haven’t bought them but may do so sometime as a treat because I love how theirs have flavors!
    Having cottage cheese in fun cups is awesome. I buy the Stoph & Shop brand and like it, but Hood makes a garlic/chive savory cottage cheese that rocks my world too! I tend to have my cottage cheese in a tall, slim glass or in a little teacup. It’s fun!
    I spy the Primal jerky 😉 guess you practice what you preach! And that Target nut butter looks way fun. Love all the nuts in there! OMG, the watermelon salsa with BLACK BEANS, I die.

    • Oh, you must try the Biena Chickpeas! They are a bit pricey but SO delicious. The cinnamon sugar ones are my fave :). So far I’ve tried the vanilla and the strawberry Dannon Greeks and, yeah, both are super sweet. Like I said, it’s fine by me but I wouldn’t necessarily call them greek yogurts. I’m with ya, when I want a greek yogurt I want plain and tangy all the way :). The watermelon salsa is divine! And super dupes easy to make: mix together 2 cups finely diced watermelon, 1 cup vidalia onions, 1 can rinsed black beans, 1/4 cup chopped jalapenos, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro or parsely, 1-2 cloves minced garlic, 1 tblsp. brown sugar, and salt to taste. That’s it! Easy Peasy and delicious!

      • Thank you!! My mom does something super similar except no fruit, she uses corn instead. The brown sugar TOTALLY intrigues me!

  2. wholeisticallyfit

    This is my first time stopping by your blog thanks to WIAW and I’m glad I did! I really enjoyed your post and very much appreciate your authenticity in shamelessly showing us what processed foods you eat – even the “unhealthy” stuff like the peep. 🙂 What a great idea! I also love me some good processed foods – dark chocolate, cottage cheese, greek yogurt, tofu – the list could go on and on. I am excited to come back and visit often!

  3. Today (and Tuesday, and Monday) I’ve been eating almonds. Like, eating my weight in almonds. I’m not sure if this is your influence 😉
    I had my normal breakfast of raisin bread (the same recipe as I brought to girl’s weekend!), egg, water and coffee, lunch of beets and chevre, snack of peaches and almonds and marshmallows (not together though!) and for dinner we’re going to have leftover vanilla brined chicken from the tapas restaurant. Also, I’m indulging this week and drinking a half pint of beer each night, we still have almost half a growler I don’t want to waste! But my weight is holding steady so I don’t feel too guilty 🙂
    Maybe I should join in on WIAW, I love your WIAW posts! Do you need to sign up in advance?

    • Hey, peaches, almonds, and marshmallows sound great together! That could make a really good pie or something – get on that, lady! 🙂 You don’t need to sign up for WIAW – just click on the link above and it’ll tell you all about it.

  4. as for favorite pre-packaged foods, I think my big one now is laughing cow wedges, but I usually bounce around among various dairy products, all along the lines of what you’ve posted here!

  5. Gal A

    I love the Vanilla Chai Spiced coffee from Trader Joe’s! I have been drinking that for months now, it’s great iced too

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

