I’ve Fallen…

…into such a habit…

…that, even though Jenn and many other WIAW followers have moved on, I’m still stuck in the above series.

**My lateness to the new WIAW party might also have something to do with my recent absence from the blog world.  I apologize profusely, my darlings.  Life has gotten in the way the last couple of weeks but I am now officially back in the game blog!  Careful there, don’t fall all over yourselves with excitement.  I mean, I know it’s hard to rein in your joy at my return but we wouldn’t want you spilling your morning coffee all over the keyboard now, would we? :)**

Anywho, the aforementioned habit in question?  Cottage Cheese.

A small selection of the various brands that have been inhabiting my refrigerator shelves of late.

I blew through the tub of Cabot this past Friday – a little too watery and salty for my tastes but that didn’t stop me from eating the entire container in one sitting.  The Breakstone’s served as my Sunday night dinner and the container of Friendship was consumed over the course of two days – Monday and Tuesday nights’ dessert.  48 oz. of cottage cheese in four days.  That’s a lot of cottage cheese.

I’ve tried in vain to curb my enthusiasm…

Truth.

…for this delectable edible but it’s just not happening.  Even if I limit myself to purchasing just one tub on my weekly grocery run, chances are I’ll be making an atypical mid-week trip to the store for another 16 oz. of dairy delight.

This is not the first time I’ve had an obsession with a particular food.  I periodically go on these food jags where I am consumed by – or, more accurately, I consume – a certain food for an extended period of time.  These jags are not your everyday, run-of-the-mill binges.  They’re not a case of an “oh-my-god-I-cannot-stop-eating-this-bag-of-Chex-Mix-someone-please-take-it-away-from-me-or-it’ll-be-gone-in-zero-point-two-seconds-oops-too-late-I-already-ate-the-whole-thing-but-I-won’t-want-Chex-Mix-now-for-another-few-months” situation.  No, my jags last for weeks, if not months, people.  During this time, I simply cannot get enough of whatever food I happen to be obsessed with.  Roasted vegetables (no specific veggies or roasting method – just roasted veg in general), mangoes, roasted and salted mixed nuts, raisins – they’ve all been the subject of one of my jags.

Granted, most of my jags center on a somewhat healthy food – it’s not like I’m having a gustatory love affair with Craz-E Burgers – but too much of a good thing is still too much, right?  Probably.

Whelp, I will work valiantly to break myself of this cottage cheese habit but if I’m successful it’ll probably only mean that I’m on a new jag.  The ends of my jags are of biblical proportions in that the raisin jag begat the mixed nut jag begat the roasted vegetable jag begat the mango jag begat the cottage cheese jag.  If it’s not one fruit it’s a nut butter…but at least it’s not (and, hopefully, won’t ever be) a double bacon cheeseburger between two Krispy Kreme donuts.

Have you ever been on a food jag?

If so, how did you break yourself of the habit? – Come on, I need ideas, people!

What did you eat Wednesday?

Categories: Cottage Cheese, Uncategorized, What I Ate Wednesday | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I’ve Fallen…

  1. I went on a food jag for frozen veggie burgers and deli-slim buns. Now I can’t look at them without wanting to gag a bit. Too much of a good thing doesn’t always work for me. Same with dill pickles. I am taking a break from those too….

    • justgonnarunwithit

      LOL, I hear ya. Unfortunately for me, my jags don’t usually sour me on a particular food – sometimes I wish they would!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

