Halloween Remix

So, much as Alfred did twelve  months ago, Sandy threw a kink in the works this year in terms of Trick-o-Treating.  Because of power outages and general destruction, annual Let’s-Mooch-Free-Candy-Off-The-Neighbors celebrations were postponed in many towns in the Northeast – one such being my parents’. 

In Mom and Dad’s small hamlet in Northwest CT, the town mandated that Trick-o-Treating occur on the Saturday after Halloween.  Well, this caused a bit of a stressful situation for mi madre as she and Dad had already planned to be away that evening.  She called me in a bit of a panic: “Would you and The Man come and hand out candy to the Trick-o-Treaters on Saturday…you know, so no one eggs our house or anything?”

I LOVE Halloween.  I LOVE Trick-o-Treating.  I LOVE handing out candy to those celebrating this fantastic tradition.  As such, my response was a no-brainer:

“Um, well, yeah!  Totes McGoats, mamacita!”  **I don’t call my Mom “mamacita”…like ever…don’t know where that came from, but it just sounded right in this instance, no?**

So, on said Saturday, The Man and I packed up ingredients for dinner, made a quick pit stop at the liquor store,  and headed over to my parents’ for some Trick-o-Treating fun!

Yeah, we got 13 Trick-o-Treaters.  13.

Needless to say there was a lot of left-over candy…which The Man and I took as “payment” for our good deed.  🙂

Well, I found out the next morning that The Man had alterior motives for taking that gallon-size baggie of snack-size Snickers.  His plan?

“I think it’d be good if you made some cookies with those.  Ya know, to use them up…”

Riiiiiiight  🙂

But, baker that I am, I was thinking along the same lines.  And these, my friends, are the result:

Double Chocolate Coco-Loco Snickers Candy Cookies

MMM…

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/8 cup light brown sugar

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 egg

1 tablespoon seltzer water

8 snack size Snickers, roughly chopped

Whisk flours, cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda together in a small bowl.  In a larger bowl, beat sugars and butter together until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg.  Add flour mixture to sugar mixture and stir until well combined.  Gently stir in the seltzer.  Stir in Snickers pieces.  Roll into balls (I used a 2 tablespoon-sized scoop) and bake for 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees.

Alright, you all know I’m avoiding sugar AND many of you know that chocolate and coconut are not my most favorite things in the world BUT a baker must taste-test her creations before she serves them to other people.  Right?

Wow, these are pretty darn good. 

That bite was all me. Doubters, believe it.

Hot outta the oven, they are crisp on the outside and gooey on the inside.  When they’ve cooled off, the crispness disappears and leaves behind a pillow-y softness that just melts in your mouth.  Good thing the flavors in these cookies are not my thing cause I might have had to eat the whole batch.

Ooo baby, baby. Ooo baby, baby…

Sugar Abstinent Baker tested.  The Man approved.

Well?  What are you waiting for?  Go wrastle up that left-over Halloween candy of yours and get to work.  🙂

What’s your favorite way to use up left-over Halloween candy?

How many Trick-o-Treaters did you get this year?

Categories: Candy, Cookies | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Halloween Remix

  1. Gal A

    OMG that looks amazing, totally going to try that!

  2. um…. I’m just eating the candy. We had the fewest trick or treaters we’ve had (just under 200) so we have a TON of candy left. I was going to make cookies but…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

